Sponge Cake with Whipped Cream and Strawberries

Hey everyone! One of my favorite recipes when I was younger, was a strawberries and cream cake. It would be my birthday cake every year, and I loved it. I hadn’t had it in a while and I thought I would make something similar to it. So I decided to make my classmates a sponge cake with homemade whipped cream and strawberries.

20140210-114811.jpg
I’m going to be honest, the whipped cream was not my best, but I have a good excuse. The day I made it, my family had just finished hosting a birthday party, so our fridge was packed and I needed somewhere to keep my whipped cream cool for the next day. I thought a genius idea would be to put some plastic wrap over it and stick it outside because the weather was so cold. When I woke up the next morning and took at look at it, I saw that it was colder than I thought and part of it had frozen. I was able to revive it and it still tasted good, so here is the recipe:

Ingredients

1 cup of whipping cream
1 tablespoon confectioners sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla

Directions

In a large bowl, whip cream until stiff peaks are just about to form. Beat in vanilla and sugar until peaks form. Make sure not to over-beat, cream will then become lumpy and butter-like.

The cake turned out quite well, even one of my classmates who isn’t extremely fond of cake kept begging me for another piece, so you should try out this recipe:

Original recipe makes 1 – 9×13 inch pan
4 eggs
2 cups white sugar
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 pinch salt
2 tablespoons butter
1 cup milk

1 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup flaked coconut
6 tablespoons butter
4 tablespoons milk

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Sift together flour, salt and baking powder. Set aside.
In a large bowl, beat eggs for 4 minutes with electric mixer on high. Add sugar and continue beating until light and fluffy. Add flour mixture.
In a sauce pan, bring 1 cup milk and 2 tablespoons butter to a boil. Add to batter and beat until combined.
Pour batter into 9×13 inch pan. Bake at 350 degrees F (175 degrees C) for 1 hour, or until a toothpick inserted into the cake comes out clean.
To make the frosting: In a saucepan, combine brown sugar, coconut, 6 tablespoons butter and 4 tablespoons milk. Heat and stir until butter is melted and mixture is smooth. Pour over cake as soon as it comes out of the oven. Put cake in the oven under the broiler and bake 3 to 4 minutes, or until icing is light brown.

20140210-115450.jpg

I then topped that off with some strawberries and it tasted somewhat similar to my favorite cake as a younger child.

20140210-115617.jpg

Thanks to Photographybyme for taking my amazing pictures!

32 thoughts on “Sponge Cake with Whipped Cream and Strawberries

  1. This is almost my birthday cake! Every year for my birthday, I get a Fresh Strawberry Shortcake from the Cheesecake Factory.🍰

Leave a Reply

