Apple and Blackberry Pie

For Christmas, I got a beautiful new pie pan and I really wanted to use it, so today I made an Apple and Blackberry pie. It is my dad’s favorite kind of pie, and after trying it, it is definitely one of my favorites as well. Here is my new pan:

20140113-160742.jpg

Inside of the pan it says, “Everyone loves pie”. Well, most people. I love it anyway. I got my recipe from Epicurious.

20140113-160151.jpg

Ingredients:

Crust

2 cups self-rising flour
9 tablespoons sugar
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) chilled unsalted butter, cut into pieces
1 large egg, beaten to blend
2 tablespoons (about) ice water

Filling

2 pounds tart green apples (such as Granny Smith), peeled, quartered, cored, cut into 1/4-inch-thick slices
1 1/2 cups frozen unsweetened blackberries, unthawed
1/3 cup plus 2 teaspoons sugar
2 tablespoons all purpose flour
Milk
Sweetened whipping cream

For crust:
Combine flour and sugar in medium bowl. Add butter and rub in with fingertips until coarse crumbs form. Mix in beaten egg. Mix in enough ice water by tablespoonfuls to form moist clumps. Divide dough in half. Gather dough into 2 balls; flatten into disks. Wrap each disk in plastic and refrigerate until firm enough to roll out, about 30 minutes. (Can be made 1 day ahead. Keep chilled. Soften slightly at room temperature before rolling out.)
For filling:
Preheat oven to 375Β°F. Mix apples, blackberries, 1/3 cup sugar and flour in large bowl.
Roll out 1 dough disk on floured surface to 12-inch round. Transfer to 9-inch-diameter glass pie dish.
Spoon filling into crust. Roll out second dough disk on floured surface to 12-inch round. Place dough atop filling. Fold top crust edge under bottom edge and pinch to seal. Crimp edges decoratively. Brush crust with milk. Sprinkle with remaining 2 teaspoons sugar. Cut several slits on top of pie.
Bake pie until crust is golden brown and fruit is tender, covering edges of pie with aluminum foil if browning too quickly, about 55 minutes. Cool pie on rack 30 minutes. Serve pie warm with sweetened whipped cream.

20140113-160255.jpg

I highly recommend this recipe it’s sooo good! What’s your favorite pie? I find it too difficult to chose only one.

43 thoughts on “Apple and Blackberry Pie

    • Cool! Yes, mine is ceramic. I personally love using ceramic because they are pretty, but a nice thing about pyrex is that because it is glass, it can heat the pie in a nice, even way. πŸ™‚

  1. 🍎🍏🍎🍏🍎🍏🍎🍏I ❀️ apple pie ! My wallpaper was almost apple pie. I always get excited when there’s even the slightest mention of apple pie.🍎🍏🍎🍏🍎🍏🍎🍏

  2. This may sound strange, but I’ve never made a fruit pie. I’ve made chocolate pies, pumpkin pie and other pies like that, but never a fruit pie. Your pie looks like it turned out great and I love the idea of blackberries and apples together. Lovely plate too!! Celeste πŸ™‚

  3. Super pretty pie dish, and love the combination of apple and blackberry. There are soooo many delicious pies out there, it’s really hard to pick my favorite. Although I haven’t had one in years, blueberry might be my fav.

  4. That does look like a real winner of a pie! I could never pick just one favorite, especially since it really depends on the quality of the fruit. Depending on what’s ripe, in season, and super-sweet, that’s always going to be my first pick. πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: One Year! | tastytreats13's Blog

Leave a Reply

