Owl Cupcakes!

So, I wanted to make something Halloween themed soon and was thinking about what I should make. I know, I know, owls aren’t that Halloween-y but they are a little bit seasonal….maybe. Anyway, I found this idea while browsing the internet and came across this website! I think the idea is so cute!

20131022-141614.jpg Cute right? Anyway I used a simple vanilla cupcake recipe here is the link:

INGREDIENTS (Makes 12 cupcakes)

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup sugar
3 large eggs
1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
3/4 cup milk

DIRECTIONS

STEP 1
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Line a cupcake pan with paper liners; set aside.
STEP 2
In a medium bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, and salt. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time; scrape down bowl, and beat in vanilla.
STEP 3
Add flour mixture and milk alternatively, beginning and ending with flour mixture.
STEP 4
Divide batter evenly among liners, about three-quarters full each. Bake until golden and tops spring back to touch, about 20 minutes, rotating pan once if needed. Transfer pans to wire rack; cool completely.

I used some left over chocolate frosting I had from a cake I made for my dad’s birthday, and then used some cream filled cookies and chocolate candies to construct the owls.

20131022-142037.jpg

20131022-142043.jpg

I was very satisfied with my end product!

43 thoughts on “Owl Cupcakes!

  1. Pingback: Awards | Food Daydreaming

Leave a Reply

