Little Cakes with Jam and Whipped Cream

I got my inspiration for this from an end of school event. They had snacks that resembled the ones I tried to recreate.

Here is the cake recipe:

1.5 cup(s) sifted cake flour
1.5 teaspoon(s) baking powder
.25 teaspoon(s) salt
.5 cup(s) (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
1 cup(s) sugar
2 large eggs, room temperature
.5 teaspoon(s) vanilla extract
.5 cup(s) whole milk

Directions:

Heat the oven to 400 degrees F. Lightly coat an 8-inch cake pan with butter and dust with all-purpose flour. Sift the cake flour, baking powder, and salt into a large mixing bowl.
Beat in the butter one heaping 1/4 teaspoonful at a time, using an electric mixer set on low speed, until the mixture resembles coarse sand. Beat in the sugar a tablespoon at a time, until the mixture resembles fine damp sand. Beat in the eggs one at a time. Add the vanilla and milk, and beat on medium-high, just until blended. Do not overbeat.
Pour into the prepared pan and bake until a wooden skewer inserted in the center comes out clean — 30 to 35 minutes. Cool cake in the pan on a wire rack for 5 minutes.

When I had finished my cake, I immediately thought of the moon, because it had some holes that looked like craters.

20130610-121621.jpg

What I decided to do, was cut the cake into rectangles and cut those rectangles into thirds. On one side of the rectangle, I put strawberry jam on and on the other side I put whipped cream on. When I sandwiched them together, I was very pleased with the taste.

The flavors went well together and the textures were great. That is why I reccomend this to you.

20130610-121927.jpg

20130610-121945.jpg

20130610-122007.jpg

Thanks to: http://www.countryliving.com/_mobile/recipefinder/basic-vanilla-cake-69

20130610-122156.jpg

14 thoughts on “Little Cakes with Jam and Whipped Cream

Leave a Reply

